//
you're reading...
Thoughts and ramblings.

Starting anew.

As the title says, I’m “starting anew”; meaning that I am restarting my dieting and restarting this blog after a short period of inactivity. I have several reasons for not blogging: 1) My mum’s laptop randomly turns itself off, 2) I’ve been working a tonne and have had no time to blog, 3) My sister hogs the laptop to get “assignments” done and 4) I’ve been eating like a complete pig lately so I’ve been ashamed to write down what I have eaten over the past couple of days. I know, there are no excuses if you want to change yourself but hey, I’m allowed a get out of jail free card every now and again. I know all of us need one at some time and I’ve decided to use mine right now.

Yesterday I came up with some goals that I’m going to try to achieve in the next week:

  1. Ignore my temptation to eat any candy, cake, slice or pastry type products.
  2. Eat at least three separate servings of fruit a day.
  3. Exercise at least four times a week, burning at least 200 calories each time I exercise.
  4. Do at least 250 sit ups a day, maximum 500 until I can build up my strength again.
  5. Eat below my calorie intake, keeping within a “safe” range of 500-800 calories a day.

I know I can push myself further but I would have to be a madman or madwoman to do it right now. I know my body is capable, given the right circumstances and chance to adapt but right now is definitely not that time. In a week or two I’ll probably be up to it.

Yesterday I had so much junk food to eat, too much in anyone’s book. Belgian slice, candy, chocolate cake, cream puffs, ham, cheese and crackers, yogurt, bananas, cherries and grapes; enough of everything to feed several armies for weeks. Needless to say, when I stepped on the scales this morning I had gained half a kilogram in weight. Which, to a “normal” person who doesn’t obsess about their weight, it wouldn’t matter but to me it’s like the whole world has collapsed. I hate weight gain. Even if I only gain two hundred grams I’m already examining my body, looking for where the fat has hidden itself this time.

So beginning today I am going to ignore all the junk food that is put in front of me and starting my diet for real. Again. I’m determined to get down to 40kg before my birthday (one month and two days away). I know I can do it. I’m ready for round two now. This time there is going to be no excuses. There will only be success or failure.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 700 high fives!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

